Library Research Guides: Frankenreads @ GWC: Frankenstein Editions & Criticism

Frankenstein Editions and Criticism

Frankenstein; Dracula; Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Mary Shelley; Bram Stoker; Robert Louis Stevenson; Stephen King (Introduction by)
Call Number: F - Popular Collection - 2nd Floor LRC
Publication Date: 1978
A collection of three classic horror tales, with a new introduction by Stephen King.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Call Number: PR5397 .F7 1976 General Collection - 3rd Floor LRC
ISBN: 9780899666938
Publication Date: 1990
Written in 1816 when she was only 19, Mary Shelley's novel of 'The Modern Prometheus' chillingly dramatized the dangerous potential of life begotten upon a laboratory table. A frightening creation myth for our own time, "Frankenstein" remains one of the greatest horror stories ever written and is an undisputed classic of its kind.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley; Diane Johnson (Introduction by)
Call Number: PR5397 .F7 2003 General Collection - 3rd Floor LRC
Publication Date: 1984
The story of Dr. Frankenstein and the obsessive experiment that leads to the creation of a monstrous and deadly creature.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley; Malvina G. Vogel (Adapted by); Pablo Marcos Studio Staff (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.S54145 Fr 2002 General Collection - 3rd Floor LRC
ISBN: 1577656865
Publication Date: 2002
Great Illustrated Classics (adapted for children).

Websites containing the full text of the novel Frankenstein.

Project Gutenberg: Frankenstein; Or, The Modern Prometheus by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which copyright has expired.
Frankenstein. Ed. Stuart Curran. Romantic Circles Editions. Romantic Circles, May 2009.
This edition preserves both the 1818 and 1831 publications of Frankenstein. The novels can be read online as well as compared using a Juxta Commons link. The edition includes a critical introduction and study aids (plot summary, characters, additional materials). An appendix lists more than 280 previous editions of the novel.
Frankenstein. The Shelley-Godwin Archive.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive provides access to digitized manuscripts by England’s first family of writers: Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, William Godwin, and Mary Shelley. The manuscript for Frankenstein can be read in its original manuscript versions or in its first printed three-volume text. Each page is exquisitely rendered and optimized for audience reading, zooming, and comparing. The Shelley-Godwin Archive is a great resource for those interested in exploring Mary Shelley and Percy Bysshe Shelley’s collaborative writing process.
Frankenstein; or, the Modern Prometheus (1818). The New York Public Library Digital Collections.
Online page images of the 1818 edition that can be read online in a page-turner version.

Locate Literary Criticism in the following database:

Search by the title, Frankenstein, or the author, Mary Shelley.

(Full-text may be accessed by logging in with your Coast Username and Password)

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Literature Resource Center (2 minutes)
Find full-text authoritative sources in literary criticism and analysis, literary biography, and literary themes in books, scholarly journals and media sources. Advanced techniques allow you to search for persons or literary works in various categories. Research more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, click on "Advanced Search" and limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Look for sources that are identified as "Literature Criticism."

eBook in our Library Collection:

(full-text of the book can be accessed by logging in with your Coast Username and Password)

"Frankenstein" in Novels for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Commonly Studied Novels by Diane Telgen, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414427942
Publication Date: 1997
Provides critical overviews of the novel from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes, and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.

Books in the GWC Library General Collection:

(may be checked out using your GWC Student ID)

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein: Tracing the Myth by Christopher Small
Call Number: PR5397 .F738 1973 General Collection - 3rd Floor LRC
Publication Date: 1973
Analyzes the origins and background of Mary Shelley's work as well as its literary style and relationship to mythology.
Mary Shelley's Monster: The Story of Frankenstein by Martin Tropp
Call Number: PR5397.F73 T7 General Collection - 3rd Floor LRC
Publication Date: 1976