Counseling 104: Career and Life Planning

Bestselling authors Otto Kroeger and Janet Thuesen make it easy to recognize your own type and those of your co-workers in Type Talk at Work, a revolutionary guide to understanding your workplace and thriving in it. Fully revised and updated for its 10th anniversary, this popular classic now features a new chapter on leadership, showing you how to be more effective on the job. Get the most out of your employees—and employers—using the authors’ renowned expertise on typology.

Building on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator Personality Inventory (MBTI), Pearman and Albritton, executives at Leadership Innovations, an international consulting and training firm, present an in-depth study of the dynamics of type. Through charts and explanatory text, the authors present a wide array of information, analyze the strengths and weaknesses of each personality type, and explore type-dynamic behaviors and interactions, all to help us better understand our motivation and those of others. Individuals and managers who have taken the MBTI or use it for staff training will find this book a useful source for putting their knowledge of differing types to work toward communication with colleagues.

Aptitude tests assess a person's abilities or intelligence, often as part of an IQ test, whilst personality questionnaires help to reveal an individual's characteristics or personality traits. Both are of equal value to employers as they can indicate a candidate's suitability to a particular position.IQ and Personality Tests contains hundreds of practice questions from both these vital areas of assessment. The personality questions look at attitudes and values, often in an entertaining way, whilst the aptitude questions are organised into two IQ tests which assess verbal, numerical, logical and spatial reasoning skills. They are typical of the type and style of question candidates are likely to encounter in actual IQ tests. Answers and a simple analysis of scores are also given, so that readers can assess their performance.Whilst providing entertainment, the questions in IQ and Personality Tests are also a great source of practice material for those faced with the real tests.

Research has proven that matching your personality to a career brings work satisfaction and success. With this best-selling book's help, you discover your personality type and the 50 best jobs that relate to it. Part I overviews how personality relates to careers. Part II features a self-assessment for determining you personality type: Realistic, Investigative, Artistic, Social, Enterprising or Conventional. Part III contains the best job lists, including the 50 best jobs overall for each personality type. Other lists for each personality type include the best-paying jobs, jobs with the highest projected growth, best jobs based on education lever, best part-time jobs, and best jobs for the self-employed--145 best jobs lists in all. In Part IV, you find a gold mine of facts about the 50 best jobs for each of the six personality types & 300 job descriptions.

Compiled by a psychometric testing specialist and bestselling author, this book has three main aims: careers guidance, preparation and personal performance improvement. It works on the principle that self knowledge enables readers to relate their own personal characteristics to career opportunities. At the same time, it provides an opportunity to prepare for the types of psychometric tests likely to be encountered while job seeking. It also aims to improve performance by demonstrating how to apply aptitudes and personal qualities at work.

Many organisations and educational institutions use psychometric testing to uncover candidates' abilities and assess their potential. The Aptitude Test Workbook will help you prepare for these tests and give you an awareness of your strengths and where they could take you. A companion to Test Your Own Aptitude, it contains 16 tests with over 400 questions - verbal, numerical, perceptual, spatial and practical. With two new tests - Word Skills and Number Skills - based on 'real-life' assessments, this revised edition is an essential read. Packed with practical advice, help sections and expert tips it will help you to improve your key skills and find your career direction.

.This fully revised and expanded second edition will be invaluable to anyone faced with a selection test for a role in engineering or the construction industry. Based on real life preparation programmes devised by the authors, it contains reliable advice on the most common types of technical tests, why they are used and how to prepare for them, plus a dictionary of essential terms that any candidate will encounter. There are hundreds of practice questions with answers and explanations, so that applicants can assess their performance, boost their confidence and learn to cope with anxiety. The practice material includes verbal and numerical psychometric test questions, plus tests of spatial reasoning, fault diagnosis, and accuracy.Candidates can actually improve their scores through preparation, and How to Pass Technical Selection Tests provides all the expert advice and practice material needed.