Library Research Guides: Communication Studies 110: Public Speaking: Topics

Developing a Topic

Developing a good research question can sometimes be the most difficult part of the research process. If you are struggling, consider the following ways:

Ask your instructor for help.
Ask a reference librarian for help.
Use databases (listed on this page) to help you.

Narrowing a topic: Use subject-specific dictionaries or encyclopedias (Reference books) for key terms/ideas related to your subject.

Finding Topics: Persuasive Speeches

Several of the library databases are helpful for locating topics for persuasive speeches:

Not sure what a database is or how to search one? Use the site menu to learn more!

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Look for 'Browse Issues' for an extensive list of debatable, argumentative topics to research. This database is an expanded, digital version of the Hot Topics shelf in the library.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Look for the drop-down menu 'Browse Topics' to find very broad topics like 'Education' or 'Defense and National Security.' Under those broad categories, find the report names which would be your narrow topic.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Look for 'Leading Issues' or 'All Leading Issues'. SIRS gives an overview of the broad topic and different sides to the issue.

Websites for further topic ideas:

ProCon.org: Understand the issues. Understand each other.
The mission statement at ProCon.org is: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format."
more...less...
ProCon.org uses professional researchers and rigorous editorial standards to explore more than 70 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy. Understanding issues using this structured methodology helps to improve academic performance, increase civic engagement, strengthen personal resiliency, bridge political divides, and stimulate critical thinking – the #1 skill sought by employers and educators.
401 Prompts for Argumentative Writing
From The Learning Network, Teaching and Learning with the New York Times. (https://www.nytimes.com/section/learning)

Finding Topics: Informative Speeches

Here is a selection of library databases to find resources for an informative speech.

Informative speeches may be broken down into four distinct types:

Objects (people, places or things)
Processes or "How-To"
Events
Concepts

1. OBJECTS

Examples: Famous or infamous people, places, regions, countries, or cannons, the wheel.

CountryWatch: Website to the World This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date and detailed information on all countries including government,culture, history, social, economy and economic forecasts, business, environmental conditions, travel and maps.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Search full-text articles on people, places or things in popular and general magazines such as Rolling Stone, Sports Illustrated and Motor Trend.

2. PROCESSES or "HOW-TO"

Examples: Business plan development or How to avoid athletic injuries.

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Business Source Elite (3 minutes)
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This resource includes access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. The collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."

3. EVENTS

Examples: Kwanzaa, Women's March, or Hurricane Andrew

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award-winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

4. CONCEPTS

Examples: Childhood obesity or global warming

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Opposing Viewpoints (1:30 minutes)
Current and controversial (pro/con) social issues published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, statistical sources, and primary documents, including the Opposing Viewpoints Series of books.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Academic Journals."

Websites for further information:

509 Informative Speech Ideas and Topics
From My Speech Class, Public Speaking Tips & Speech Topics.
Major Types of Informative Speeches
From Writing@CSU, The Writing Studio at Colorado State University.
Topic Selection Helper
From the University of Hawai'i Maui Community College Speech Department.

Communication Studies 110: Public Speaking