Library Research Guides: Latinx Library Guide: Resources

Quotes

Never stop learning, life never stops teaching

Quote from Paulo Freire, Pedagogy of Oppressed

About this Guide

The Latinx Library Resource Guide is designed to provide an online space to learn about the history and life experiences of various Chicanx/Latinx groups and their contributions to our society. Our goal is to celebrate the accomplishments of Chicanx/Latinx authors, honor our social justice warriors, and recognize the advocates for social change. GWC embodies equity and inclusion of all students, and we look to bring awareness and recognition to those who want to understand and embrace the Chicanx/Latinx culture.

The resource guide is not meant to be comprehensive, but rather a living repository of material. It includes lists of books, e-books, article databases, streaming videos, and accessible online resources.

Attribution: Adapted by GWC librarians; Nancy Fong, MSW, and Yvonne Portillo, Ed.D., GWC counselors; from the Long Beach City College guide, Latinx Library Resource Guide: Latinx Resources, a collaboration of LBCC librarians, faculty, and students.

Resources for Latinx Students at GWC:

Puente Program
Established in 1981, Puente is an academic, counseling, and mentoring program for educationally underrepresented students to build the necessary skills for college and life success. Students enrolled in the Puente program work closely with their counselor, English instructor, and mentor to prepare for transfer to four-year colleges and universities.
MESA Program
The MESA (Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement) program at Golden West College provides academic, community, transfer, professional/career and other supports for STEM students so they can transfer to four-year institutions as majors in these fields. Through the program, students develop academic and leadership skills, increase educational performance, and gain confidence in both their academic and professional abilities.

Selected Print Books

I, Rigoberta Menchú: An Indian woman in Guatemala

Voicing Chicana Feminisms: Young Women Speak Out on Sexuality and Identity

Undocumented: Dominican Boy's Odyssey from a Homeless Shelter to the Ivy League

La Casa en Mango Street / The House on Mango Street

Harvest of Empire: The History of Latinos in America

Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continent

1491: New Revelations of the Americas before Columbus

The Crusades of Cesar Chavez: A Biography

Selected eBooks

The Latino Student's Guide to College Success

An African American and Latinx History of the United States

Oye Como Va! : Hybridity and Identity in Latino Popular Music

Latinx: The New Force in American Politics and Culture

Women Writing Resistance: Essays on Latin America and the Caribbean

The Book of Salsa: A Chronicle of Urban Music From the Caribbean to New York City

Learning to Be Latino: How Colleges Shape Identity Politics

Playing America's Game: Baseball, Latinos, and the Color Line

Undocumented Immigrants and Higher Education: Si se Puede!

Hispanic-Latino Entrepreneurship: Viewpoints of Practitioners

How Does It Feel to Be Unwanted? : Stories of Resistance and Resilience From Mexicans Living in the United States

Databases

Latino Studies: Films on Demand database

Additional Library Resources

Streaming films:

Films on Demand: Dia del los Muertos Collection
Documentary films describing the Day of the Dead celebration.

Additional Resources

Websites, podcasts, vlogs, etc.

History.com: Latino, Hispanic, Latinx, Chicano: The History Behind the Terms
Article from September 2020, discussion on the effort to coin a term to describe a wildly diverse group of Americans which has long stirred controversy.
A Latinx Resource Guide: Civil Rights Cases and Events in the United States
A Library of Congress Research Guide from the Hispanic Reading Room focuses on 20th and 21st-century American court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American, and Puerto Rican communities.
Latinx Studies: Library of Congress Resources
This guide provides curated Library of Congress resources for researching LatinX Studies, including digitized primary source materials in a wide variety of formats, books and periodicals, online databases, and research strategies.
Podcast: Latino USA
Celebrating over 25 years, Peabody Award-winning Latino USA is the longest-running Latino-focused program on U.S. public media with a mission to elevate the voices of historically marginalized communities through authentic storytelling.
Podcast: Tamarindo
Tamarindo is a Latinx empowerment podcast discussing politics, culture, and how to keep your calma with well-being practices and self-love. Each week on the podcast, the hosts have insightful conversations on race, gender, representation and life.