GWC Library Databases

Research Guides

Guides are lists of recommended resources made by librarians to help with research. Each guide will have links to relevant databases and library research tools.

Contact GWC Librarians

During library open hours:

Call: (714) 895-8741 x55184

Text: 714-882-5425

Visit: Reference Desk/LRC 2nd Floor

Chat:

Featured Databases

The most frequently-used databases

*EBSCO PowerSearch

Featured

Alternative Name(s): Power Search

Video Tutorial: Introduction to EBSCOhost (4 minutes)
Select multiple EBSCO databases at once, including Academic Search Complete, MasterFILE Complete, and more. Best bet: choose related databases for the best results.
Not sure what those are? Ask a Librarian!

Academic Search Complete

Featured

Alternative Name(s): EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete

Video Tutorial: Academic Search Complete (3 minutes)
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."

GWC Library Catalog: Find Textbooks (Course Reserves)

Featured

Alternative Name(s): Textbooks and other course-related materials.

Quick link into the library catalog to locate textbooks and other course-related materials. In-Library Use Only for most items. GWC Student ID required for checkout.
Location: LRC 2nd Floor, Public Services Desk

Opposing Viewpoints

Featured

Video Tutorial: Opposing Viewpoints (1:30 minutes)
Current and controversial (pro/con) social issues published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, statistical sources, and primary documents, including the Opposing Viewpoints Series of books.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Academic Journals."

Off Campus Access: Instructions

Use your MyGWC (Coast) username and password to login to databases from off-campus.

For more information:

Golden West College: Off Campus Access Instructions