Library Research Guides: Historical Investigation: Find Articles

Research Starters

Recommended History Databases

They are great for finding all types of resources in one place and include both primary and secondary sources.

NOTES:

To find background information in these databases, you will typically look for links to REFERENCE materials.
To find scholarly, academic essays in these databases, see the description below each database name for the selector (either scholarly or peer-reviewed).

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Searching for a time period in America: History & Life (1 minute)
America History & Life Getting Started Guide(PDF)
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Academic Search Complete (3 minutes)
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Project Muse (5 minutes)
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Find full-text scholarly academic research articles (from both journals and university press books) in music, art, theater, cinema, literature, deaf studies, sociology, psychology, education, history, geography, and philosophy.
**For full-text results: In the 'Filter Results' section --> under 'Access' --> Select 'Only content I have access to.'
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Basic Search (3 minutes)
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Search Results (3 minutes)
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."

Search for more . . .

More History Databases

Go to the Library's database list, then click the All Subjects button.

From the drop-down menu, choose History.

A to Z Database List
The GWC Library subscribes to many other databases beyond those listed here. Follow this link to discover more.