Library Research Guides: Counseling 105: Strategies for College Success: Find Articles

What is a Library Database?

Libraries have subscriptions to millions of articles contained in a 'database.'

These databases allow our students to access a wealth of credible information that may not be found on the open web. We pay for it so you don't have to!

The GWC Library has a variety of different databases for our students, including eBooks, streaming videos, as well as journal, magazine, and newspaper article databases.

Databases for Counseling 105 Library Exercise

Here are databases that you may use for your assignment:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Academic Search Complete (3 minutes)
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Opposing Viewpoints (1:30 minutes)
Current and controversial (pro/con) social issues published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, statistical sources, and primary documents, including the Opposing Viewpoints Series of books.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Academic Journals."
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: SIRS Knowledge Source (2 minutes)
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly Journals."

A to Z Database List
The GWC Library subscribes to many other databases beyond those listed here. Follow this link to discover more.

Choosing a Database

Library databases provide you with 24/7 access to materials such as magazine, journal and newspaper articles, to name a few.

To help you identify the most appropriate database for your research topic:

Find all databases on the GWC Library Databases A-Z Page
Use the pull-down menu to limit your search by 'SUBJECT' or
Sort them using 'DATABASE by TYPE':
- All databases that contain SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES.
- All databases that contain STREAMING VIDEO.
- All databases that contain EBOOKS/EBOOK CHAPTERS.

Counseling 105: Strategies for College Success

Off Campus Access: Instructions

Use your MyGWC (Coast) username and password to login to databases from off-campus.