Library Research Guides: Economics 130: Environmental Economics & Policy: Start: Library Resources

Introduction

Economics 130: Environmental Economics & Policy

Library Research Guide

Bureau of Land Management. "Renewable Energy Development in the California Desert." Flickr, Yahoo!, 20 September 2016, https://flic.kr/p/Mqt3Jp. Accessed 9 September 2024.

This guide will help you fulfill your research requirements in Econ 130, Environmental Economics:

Explore potential topics.
Find articles (newspaper and scholarly) to support your research.
Find data to support your empirical analysis.

Selected Library Books

The Business and Culture of Sports: Society, Politics, Economy, Environment by Joseph Maguire
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9780028664989

Publication Date: 2019
Climate Change Politics and Policies in America: Historical and Modern Documents in Context by Jerald C. Mast
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9781440859700

Publication Date: 2019
Environmental Issues Today: Choices and Challenges by Robert J. Duffy (Editor); Susan M. Opp (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9781440859847

Publication Date: 2021
Examining Energy and the Environment Around the World by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9781440859298

Publication Date: 2019
Natural Hazards and Disasters: From Avalanches and Climate Change to Water Spouts and Wildfires by Bimal Kanti Paul (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9781440862144

Publication Date: 2021
Toxic Chemicals in America: Controversies in Human and Environmental Health by Kelly A. Tzoumis (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)

ISBN: 9781440857539

Publication Date: 2021

eBooks from the GWC Library

The GWC Library has collections of thousands of electronic books (eBooks).

Most titles are different than our print collection. They may be accessed 24/7.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Video Tutorial: Searching EBSCO eBooks in the new EBSCOhost (1 minute)
Video Tutorial: Reading EBSCO eBooks (2 minutes)
Find books in full-text on a variety of subjects. eBooks may be accessed from off-campus and sections may be printed and/or saved.
Note: Most EBSCO eBooks may only be viewed one at a time. If unable to view an eBook, please try back in a few minutes.
Gale eBooks
Video Tutorial: Gale eBooks - Searching for Information (1 minute)
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Each eBook title has **Unlimited** Access.

*Note: Use your Coast login to access databases from off campus.

Find Information: Library Databases (Scholarly)

Library Databases are where you will find credible articles, including scholarly research.

Scholarly Sources (primary research studies):

Search for the study or other research mentioned in your magazine or newspaper article. Use keywords and think of synonyms or related terms.

Academic Search Complete
Video Tutorial: Basic Search on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (2 minutes)
Video Tutorial: Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (3 minutes)
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Biological Science Database
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Basic Search (3 minutes)
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search (2 minutes)
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Search Results (3 minutes)
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting-edge research, with applications to medicine, technology, and the environment.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Business Source Elite
Video Tutorial: Basic Search on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (2 minutes)
Video Tutorial: Business Source Elite (3 minutes)
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This resource includes access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. The collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
GreenFILE
Video Tutorial: GreenFILE (2 minutes)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
JSTOR
Video Tutorial: JSTOR (7 minutes)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization.
For Faculty:
JSTOR Guide: Resources and tools to enhance teaching and learning

Find Information: Library Databases (Magazines & Newspapers )

Magazine and newspaper articles will help you find current information about recent findings.

These are credible but not scholarly resources. See if the article refers to a journal, study, or scientist. If not, try using the keywords in these popular articles. Use that information to search scholarly sources.

Alt-PressWatch
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Basic Search (3 minutes)
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Search Results (3 minutes)
Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles from alternative, independent presses, providing an unmatched, multidisciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
MasterFILE Complete
Video Tutorial: Basic Search on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (2 minutes)
Video Tutorial: Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (3 minutes)
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full-text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Newspaper Source Plus
Video Tutorial: Newspaper Source Plus (2 minutes)
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
U.S. Newsstream
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Search Results (3 minutes)
Best for: Finding current information in daily newspapers.
This database enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.

Find Information: Library Databases (Statistics)

Statistics can be used to make a point in your research. They provide an interpretation and summary of data.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Now published by ProQuest, this database is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Editions from the year 2013 to current are included.
This resource had been published annually by the Federal Government from 1878 to 2012. To view all historical editions available, see "Statistical Abstract Series" on the U.S. Census Bureau website.

Find Information: More Library Databases

You are not limited to the resources here. The GWC Library subscribes to many different databases:

A to Z Database List
The GWC Library subscribes to many other databases beyond those listed here. Follow this link to discover more.

Economics 130: Environmental Economics & Policy

For research help and more: Ask a GWC Librarian!

Library Hours: Spring 2025

Library Building:

Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 5 pm

Friday: 8 am - 12:30 pm

Online Research Help:

Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 8 pm*

Friday: 8 am - 3 pm*

Saturdays: February 8th to March 29th, 9 am - 1 pm

Library Hours: Summer 2025

Library Building:

Mon - Wed: 9 am - 1 pm

Online Research Help:

Mon - Wed: 9 am - 1 pm

Current Environmental Economics News

Updated news articles from ScienceDaily

Introduction

Economics 130: Environmental Economics & Policy

Library Research Guide

This guide will help you fulfill your research requirements in Econ 130, Environmental Economics:

Selected Library Books

eBooks from the GWC Library

The GWC Library has collections of thousands of electronic books (eBooks).

Find Information: Library Databases (Scholarly)

Library Databases are where you will find credible articles, including scholarly research.

Scholarly Sources (primary research studies):

Find Information: Library Databases (Magazines & Newspapers )

Magazine and newspaper articles will help you find current information about recent findings.

Find Information: Library Databases (Statistics)

Statistics can be used to make a point in your research. They provide an interpretation and summary of data.

Find Information: More Library Databases

You are not limited to the resources here. The GWC Library subscribes to many different databases: