Psychology 280: Research Methods in Psychology

Libraries have subscriptions to millions of articles contained in a 'database.'

These databases allow our students to access a wealth of credible information that may not be found on the open web. We pay for it so you don't have to! 

The GWC Library has a variety of different databases for our students, including eBooks, streaming videos, as well as journal, magazine, and newspaper article databases.

When saving articles or sharing with others, you will need to use the permanent or persistent links, also known as permalinks or bookmarks.

Please note: DO NOT use the URL at the top of your web browser OR the link in the citation as they may not work.

These library databases use different terms, but each of them has a way to get a shareable, remote access link to the resources. Look around the page for terms such as:

• Permalink
• Permanent link
• Get Link
• Bookmark
• OR see if the URL/web address starts with or includes GWC.

Here are databases that are helpful for providing evidence for your research paper assignment:

© The Exploratorium, www.exploratorium.edu

What is the empirical method of research?

"any procedure for conducting an investigation that relies upon experimentation and systematic observation rather than theoretical speculation."

- APA Dictionary of Psychology definition.

Identifying elements:

• Headings will include: Abstract, Methods, Results, Discussion, and References. These sections may not be titled with these exact terms (ex: Discussion may be called Conclusion), but the elements will be present. The Methods section will often state whether empirical research was used.
• Graphs and charts are included.
• Usually lengthy (over 5 pages).
• Must be published in scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.

Tips for locating empirical research studies:

1. When you are searching the databases, make sure you limit your search to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals." Empirical research studies are published in peer-reviewed journals.
2. Modify your keyword search terms to include the phrases that are associated with empirical research. For instance, try "qualitative research" or "observation research" along with your topic. 
3. Read the abstracts of the articles to see if the research strategy is outlined. You can also check the "Methodology" section for this.
4. If you find an article that you can use, check the "Subject Terms." There may be a helpful term you can use to further your search.
5. If you still can't find any options - don't give up! Check with a GWC Librarian. Librarians can help with suggestions for finding better results and which databases may be best for your subject.