Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Style Guide

A brief introduction to Modern Language Association (MLA) Style Citations.

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations followed by a descriptive summary and/or evaluation.

The purpose of this type of bibliography is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Parts of an Annotated Bibliography

An annotation may include some or all of these parts: 

  • a citation to the workclipboard of the author(s)
  • purpose or scope of the work
  • topics covered
  • summary of findings or conclusions
  • audience or reading level
  • bias or standpoint of author(s)
  • relationship to works in the field
  • format/special features
  • relevance to your own research

Types of Annotated Bibliographies

Below are the most common types of annotated bibliographies:

  • Indicative:  Provides general information about the scope of the work and topics covered.
  • Informative: Provides a summary of the work.
  • Evaluative / Critical: Critcally evaluates the strengths and weaknesses of the source and/or its author. Explains how the source may be useful to a particular field of study or personal research.
  • Combination: Uses a combination of some or all of the types mentioned above.

Example (MLA Style)

Formatting example for an MLA style annotated bibliography:

Please check with your instructor for their preferred style.

Example of an MLA Style Annotated Citation

“MLA Annotated Bibliography Format.” EasyBib, Chegg, 1 Jan. 2021, www.easybib.com/guides/citation-guides/mla-format/annotated-bibliography-format-mla/.

Video: Annotated Bibliography

Recommended Websites

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License unless noted otherwise .