Library Research Guides: English 114: Great Myths and Legends: Articles

Scholarly Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly sources for literary research and background information about your topics.

Attention BOOK CLUB RESEARCHERS!

Search using the title, character(s), or ideas themes you are going to summarize for your section of the Book Club. Remember to search using the different versions or spelling of names and/or titles!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Academic Search Complete (3 minutes)
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
**If required by your assignment, you may limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Literature Resource Center (2 minutes)
Find full-text authoritative sources in literary criticism and analysis, literary biography, and literary themes in books, scholarly journals and media sources. Advanced techniques allow you to search for persons or literary works in various categories. Research more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, click on "Advanced Search" and limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Look for sources that are identified as "Literature Criticism."
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Basic Search (3 minutes)
Video Tutorial: ProQuest Search Results (3 minutes)
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies.
**If scholarly sources are required by your assignment, limit your results to "Peer Reviewed."
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorial: Project Muse (5 minutes)
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Find full-text scholarly academic research articles (from both journals and university press books) in music, art, theater, cinema, literature, deaf studies, sociology, psychology, education, history, geography, and philosophy.
**For full-text results: In the 'Filter Results' section --> under 'Access' --> Select 'Only content I have access to.'

Not finding enough?

Try using synonyms.

Put phrases in quotes when searching. For example: "rose red" will find those words in that order. Try it!

Need more? Try one of GWC Library's many other databases:

A to Z Database List
The GWC Library subscribes to many other databases beyond those listed here. Follow this link to discover more.

Journals

The library subscribes to many scholarly journals devoted to scholarship about folklore and fairy tales, and a small sampling of these is listed below.

The online databases will allow you to search through the contents of these journals (and many others), but browsing through an individual journal also gives you the opportunity for more specific topic research. Click on any of the links below and "search within that publication" for relevant articles.

Fabula
Fabula is an international medium of discussion for all issues relevant to historical and comparative folk narrative research. The fully peer-reviewed journal contains seven sections: articles, shorter contributions, research and conference reports, information, reviews, books received, and announcements of the International Society for Folk Narrative Research (ISFNR). The article section deals with the study of popular narrative tradition in its various forms (folktales, legends, jokes and anecdotes, exempla, fables, ballads, pictorial media, contemporary genres) and with the interrelationship between oral and literary traditions. Interest focuses on Europe and its spheres of influence, which does, however, not exclude contributions from other cultural areas.
Folklore
Essays, articles, notes, commentary and reviews on all aspects of folklore worldwide published as the Journal of the Folklore Society, London, for an international readership.
Folklore Forum
Folklore Forum is the journal of Trickster Press, a graduate-student-run publishing house affiliated with the Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology of Indiana University.
Journal of American Folklore
Published by the American Folklore Society. Scholarly articles of significant research findings and theoretical analysis from folklore and related fields, essays, notes, commentaries, reviews of books, exhibitions, sound recordings and films.
Journal of Folklore Research
This journal provides an international forum for current theory and research among scholars of traditional cultures. Each issue includes articles of theoretical interest to folklore and ethnomusicology as international disciplines, as well as essays that address the fieldwork experience and the intellectual history of folklore.
New Directions in Folklore
An open access journal dedicated to scholarship applying folklore theories and methodologies to the study of contemporary culture.