Medical Terminology for Dummies by *Zero Textbook Cost
"The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) and Rice University's OpenStax are building on their existing partnership to address staffing shortages in the nursing profession and reduce financial barriers for nursing students. In collaboration with postsecondary institutions in Texas and educational partners nationwide, OpenStax will launch a comprehensive free online curriculum for nursing education in spring 2024. Eight peer-reviewed textbooks will be available through the OER Nursing Essentials (O.N.E.) project on OpenStax.org and the THECB's statewide open educational resource repository, OERTX, where faculty communities can connect and collaborate on the materials."
Press release: Complete nursing textbook series now available from OpenStax (September 2024)
Playlist of webinars about OpenSTAX Nursing Textbooks: The Open Nursing Education (ONE) Summit was a fully free, virtual conference held on February 29th, 2024. The Summit was co-sponsored by OpenStax and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). Over the course of two days, industry experts and nursing education leaders, instructors, and administrators discussed critical issues in nursing education and how we can address them. Additionally, OpenStax authors and subject matter experts shared how to effectively incorporate openly licensed nursing resources — like the THECB and OpenStax’s eight-textbook nursing series — into your course or program. These free, peer-reviewed, open educational resources cover topics ranging from clinical nursing skills to pharmacology to nutrition for nurses.
The Open RN™ project is funded by a $2.5 million grant from the Department of Education to create five OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.
The Open RN project is led by Chippewa Valley Technical College as part of the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) consortium. OER nursing textbooks and virtual simulations are collaboratively developed by faculty based on the WTCS State Nursing curriculum and the current NCLEX-RN Test Plan. Textbooks undergo national peer review by faculty, deans, industry members, and nursing students to ensure the content is accurate and relevant, written in clear language for pre-licensure nursing students, and based on current, evidence-based practices. All Open RN materials have CC-BY 4.0 Creative Commons licensing.
Open RN textbooks are published in Pressbooks where they are free and accessible in online or downloadable formats. The textbooks are also uploaded to LibreTexts where they can easily be "remixed" by faculty and aligned to their curriculum.
From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), National Library of Medicine. Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OPENPediatrics is a free, global, open-access, and peer-reviewed knowledge-exchange platform for clinicians from all resource settings involved in the care of sick children.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network. The Open Education Network is based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development. Many resources include faculty reviews, using a 10-point rubric.
Many Merlot online learning and support materials include faculty reviews.
The Nursing package includes textbooks, simulations, videos and case studies.
OER Commons provides a comprehensive collection of textbooks and other materials.
Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,571 open access books published by 155 organizations and networks using Pressbooks.
The U.S. Department of Labor invested 1.9 billion in the Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program which includes Skills Commons Workforce Training Materials
Principles of Health: Nursing by 
Noninvasive Ventilation Technologies and Healthcare for Geriatric Patients by 
Impacts of Information Technology on Patient Care and Empowerment by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License unless noted otherwise.