Library Research Guides: Library Services for Faculty: Digital Tools for Teaching

Purpose

This page is intended to be a dedicated place for educational technology resources for instructors at Golden West College.

Have something to add to the conversation? Broken links that need updating? Let us know! Email us.

District IT Resources

Coast Information Services
**Live chat with IT. New resource to access District IT assistance and information.
Coast Colleges Systems Status
Service status: List of major hosted systems for the District and their status. Websites, Canvas, Banner (MyGWC), etc.
Teleworking Resources for CCCD Employees
May be out of date. Confirm information. Remote work resources and information for faculty and staff.
Instructional Resources: Coast District
Resources for Students (and Faculty): including instructions for accessing District-purchased software and links to discounted buying programs.
CCCD Zoom Pro Getting Started Guide
As an employee of Coast Community College District and the California Community College system, you automatically receive access to the features of a "pro" Zoom account— for free! Our Zoom accounts are paid for by a grant from the California Community College Chancellor's office.

GWC Resources: IT, DSPS, Canvas, TurnItIn, Respondus Monitor

Where to go for technology help:

IT Help:

IT can help with your account, network issues, and classroom/campus equipment.

District IT Service
Includes the link to the help ticket system, hours of operation, and other contact information.
GWC TSS: Technology Support Services website
Includes information on accessing Office365, WiFi instructions, and more.
GWC IT Knowledge Base
The GWC IT Knowledge Base is a collection of technology help articles relevant to our campus, including classroom technology instructions.

Canvas Help:

OnlineGWC.org
The preferred portal to Canvas for GWC, Online Instruction has created this site for students to get help with online classes.
Canvas Success Center
GWC's very own Online Instruction prepared this guide to Canvas for our faculty.
Includes information about using Techsmith Relay & Camtasia and identity authentication tools, including Respondus Monitor.

DSPS/Accessiblity Help:

DSPS: Student and Faculty Resources
Disabled Students Programs and Services information page.
Accessible Design: GWC Canvas Success Center Instructions
Includes many resources describing WHY and HOW to make your Canvas content accessible.

GWC only Software and Applications:

TurnItIn Plagiarism Checking: GWC Canvas Success Center Instructions
Golden West College has a license to integrate Turnitin (plagiarism checking) within Canvas as an External Tool.
Identity Authentication: GWC Canvas Success Center Instructions
Getting started with identity authentication. Software tools and assessment options.
GWC Library Resources in Canvas
The library provides resources that you may use for content in your courses, including full-text subscription-based articles, streaming video and course-based Research Guides to name a few. This guide includes instructions on how to incorporate these resources in Canvas.

District Resources: *Panopto, Zoom, TechSmith Products, Office 365, Adobe Suite

Coast Community College District software and applications:

Panopto Video Editing Software and Platform

GWC Canvas Success Center: Panopto Quick Start Guide
This guide was developed by our very own Online Instruction.
Panopto Resources for CCCD Faculty/Employees
Coast District guide and introduction to our new video creation and hosting platform.
Panopto Platform at Coast District
This link is your personal library of videos. In order to use them in Canvas, you will need to follow the instructions in the Quick Start Guide.

CCCD Zoom Workspace:

CCCD Zoom Pro Getting Started Guide
As an employee of Coast Community College District and the California Community College system, you automatically receive access to the features of a "pro" Zoom account— for free! Our Zoom accounts are paid for by a grant from the California Community College Chancellor's office.
GWC Canvas Success Center: Zoom Tutorials & Tips
This page contains links to short videos introducing the use of Zoom in Canvas, with addtional links to tutorials and more information.

TechSmith Products: Camtasia, Snagit

Snagit: screen capture and short video capture with tools to create visual instructions.
Camtasia: Robust screen recorder and video editing software. Videos may be uploaded to your Panopto Library.

TechSmith Camtasia and Snagit Instructions (requires Coast login to view)
This Navigator page contains the 'Software Keys' to activate each of these products. The links and instructions for downloading each of them are included.
GWC Canvas Success Center: TechSmith Camtasia Instructions
Quick guide on using Camtasia. Links to further information.
** If the instructional video does not load, check to make sure you are logged into Canvas.
Camtasia Integration with Panopto
Coast District information about exporting videos from Camtasia to your Panopto Library.

District Software Subscriptions:

Do not download applications on campus computers. Contact IT for assistance.

Office 365 for Education
As an employee of Coast Community College District, you are entitled to a free subscription to Microsoft Office 365 for Educators. This includes the installation of Office 2016/2019 to your personal (MAC and Windows) and mobile device (iOS and Android) while also having 1 TB of OneDrive cloud-based storage. You can install the software on up to 5 personal devices (do not install on District-owned computers).
Adobe Creative Cloud for Higher Education
As an employee of Coast Community College District, you are entitled to a free subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud for Higher Education. This includes the installation of all Adobe Creative Cloud products to your personal (MAC and Windows) and mobile device (iOS and Android) while also having 10 GB of cloud-based storage. You can install up to 2 personal devices (do not install on District-owned computers). This also grants you access to the Adobe products on on our District owned devices as well.

State Resources:

Resources sponsored from the State Chancellor's Office.

3C Media Solutions: Grant-funded project from the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
3C Media Solutions is the educational media distribution source for video content, streaming services, and event coverage for the California Community College System.
Among the services provided, faculty can create a free, personal 3C Media on Demand account and store media.*
more...less...
*Several part-time faculty expressed interest in this type of service in the presentations on Spring Flex Day 2020.
CollegeBuys
CollegeBuys, powered by the Foundation for California Community Colleges, offers discounts of up to 85 percent on a wide range of educational products—from industry-leading software and technology to high quality office and classroom furniture.
Vision Resource Center / Cornerstone (Login with Coast username/password)
From the State Chancellor's Office, this site is their "professional devleopment" resource for all community college faculty. Included is free access to LinkedinLearning (was Lynda.com) training. Integrated into our district's Cornerstone application used for scheduling and reporting professional development activities.
**Access Cornerstone directly from the "Employee" tab in MyGWC.**

Library Services for Faculty

Current Educational Technology News

Updated newsfeed from EdSurge

Video: Office 365 Explanation from Coastline Librarian

Although this is geared toward students, this information is relevant for faculty and staff as well as giving a good overview.

Purpose

This page is intended to be a dedicated place for educational technology resources for instructors at Golden West College.

District IT Resources

Coast Information Services

GWC Resources: IT, DSPS, Canvas, TurnItIn, Respondus Monitor

Where to go for technology help:

IT Help:

Canvas Help:

DSPS/Accessiblity Help:

GWC only Software and Applications:

District Resources: *Panopto, Zoom, TechSmith Products, Office 365, Adobe Suite

Coast Community College District software and applications:

Panopto Video Editing Software and Platform

CCCD Zoom Workspace:

TechSmith Products: Camtasia, Snagit

District Software Subscriptions:

State Resources:

Resources sponsored from the State Chancellor's Office.

Library Services for Faculty

Updated newsfeed from EdSurge

Although this is geared toward students, this information is relevant for faculty and staff as well as giving a good overview.

Purpose

This page is intended to be a dedicated place for educational technology resources for instructors at Golden West College.

District IT Resources

Coast Information Services

GWC Resources: IT, DSPS, Canvas, TurnItIn, Respondus Monitor

Where to go for technology help:

IT Help:

Canvas Help:

DSPS/Accessiblity Help:

GWC only Software and Applications:

District Resources: *Panopto, Zoom, TechSmith Products, Office 365, Adobe Suite

Coast Community College District software and applications:​﻿

Panopto Video Editing Software and Platform

CCCD Zoom Workspace:

TechSmith Products: Camtasia, Snagit

District Software Subscriptions:

State Resources:

Resources sponsored from the State Chancellor's Office.

Coast Community College District software and applications: