Library Research Guides: Library Services for Faculty: Teaching Resources

Accessibility and Diversity in Education: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice

Library Resources: Teaching

Gale eBooks

All of the books on this page are located in the Gale eBooks database. Click on the titles to read the full text.

The library subscribes to several eBooks resources which may have additional information:

Library databases: eBooks

See additional databases for scholarly research, including:

ERIC: The Education Resource Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, is an online resource to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.
When provided by ERIC, there are links to the ERIC full text or links to other sources such as publisher websites or DOIs.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

A to Z Database List
The GWC Library subscribes to many other databases beyond those listed here. Follow this link to discover more.

Online Learning

Enriching Collaboration and Communication in Online Learning Communities by Carolyn N. Stevenson (Editor); Joanna C. Bauer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781522598169
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines communication and collaboration in online settings by focusing on the ways all members of an educational institution can create community fostering personal and professional growth for all.
Exploring Online Learning Through Synchronous and Asynchronous Instructional Methods by Cynthia Mary Sistek-Chandler (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799816249
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides relevant and detailed research on the applications of synchronous and asynchronous instructional pedagogies and discusses why they are critical to the design and implementation of contemporary online courses.
Handbook of Research on Creating Meaningful Experiences in Online Courses by Lydia Kyei-Blankson (Editor); Esther Ntuli (Editor); Joseph Blankson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799801160
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines strategies and practices used by online instructors to create meaningful teaching and learning experiences in online courses. It also demonstrates the kinds of learning outcomes that can be realized through online education.
Handbook of Research on Developing Engaging Online Courses by Amy W. Thornburg (Editor); Dixie F. Abernathy (Editor); Robert J. Ceglie (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799821342
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides multiple perspectives on improving student engagement and success in online courses. It includes topics focused on the online learner, online course content, and effective online instruction.
Handbook of Research on Digital Learning by Matthew Montebello (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781522593065
Publication Date: 2020
This book explores the different challenges and opportunities that the new and transformative pedagogies have enabled. The challenges will be portrayed through a number of case studies where learners have struggled, managed, and adapted digital technologies in their effort to progress educational goals.
Handbook of Research on Online Discussion-Based Teaching Methods by Lesley Wilton (Editor); Clare Brett (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799832935
Publication Date: 2020
This book seeks to identify promising designs, pedagogical and assessment strategies, conceptual models, and theoretical frameworks that support discussion-based learning in online and blended learning environments. It provides a better understanding of the effects and both commonalities and differences of new tools that support interaction, such as video, audio, and real-time interaction in discussion-based learning.
Socioeconomics, Diversity, and the Politics of Online Education by Kristina Setzekorn; Nainika Patnayakuni; Tina Burton
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799835837
Publication Date: 2020
This publication explores online education’s optimal design and management so that more students, especially those traditionally underserved, are successful and can contribute to their communities and society.
Utilizing a 5-Stage Learning Model for Planning and Teaching Online Courses: Emerging Research and Opportunities by Riad S. Aisami
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799820444
Publication Date: 2020
This scholarly publication combines the instructional system design approach (ISD) with current and emerging instructional technologies for planning and teaching effective and successful online courses. It also offers recommendations that focus on best practice experiences for engaging online students and motivating them to be active participants. Topics include data analysis, educational collaboration, and student engagement.

Technology and Learning

Disruptive and Emerging Technology Trends Across Education and the Workplace by Julie Anne Delello (Editor); Rochell R. McWhorter (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799829164
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines the latest instructive methods being utilized in classrooms and organizations as well as the benefits and challenges of adopting these technologies.
Enhancing Learning Design for Innovative Teaching in Higher Education by Sophia Palahicky (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799829454
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines how instructional systems design, instructional design, educational technologies, curriculum design, and program design impact innovation and innovative teaching in higher education.
Education and Technology Support for Children and Young Adults with ASD and Learning Disabilities by Yefim Kats (Editor); Fabrizio Stasolla (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799870555
Publication Date: 2021
This book provides an in-depth analysis on the use of available technology solutions, instructional design methods, and assessment techniques in the context of standards and regulations in classroom or counseling settings.
Fostering Communication and Learning with Underutilized Technologies in Higher Education by Mohammed Banu Ali (Editor); Trevor Wood-Harper (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (click title to access)
ISBN: 9781799848479
Publication Date: 2021
This book explores underutilized technologies in higher education that foster communication and learning.

Math Resources

Handbook of Research on Online Pedagogical Models for Mathematics Teacher Education

This book provides innovative insights into technology applications and tools used in teaching mathematics online and provides examples of online learning environments and platforms that are suitable for meeting math education goals of inquiry, investigation, reasoning, and problem solving.

Mathematics

Explains mathematical concepts with a historical overview of the field. Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field.

Mathematical Models of Infectious Diseases and Social Issues

This book provides a collection of innovative research that examines the dynamics of diseases and their effect on populations. Topics include deterministic models, environmental pollution, and social issues.

Principles of Mathematics

This collection introduces the fundamentals of mathematics. Entries provide an in-depth examination of the topic, and many include illustrations, models, equations, and sample problems. Concepts covered included: Combinatorics; Euclidian Geometry; Linear Algebra; Number Theory; Differential Equations; Game Theory; Mathematical Physics; and Probability and Statistics.

Library Services for Faculty

Grading for Equity: What It Is, Why It Matters, and How It Can Transform Schools and Classrooms